• Innovation in Action

May 4, 2021

Three HQIC Hospitals Receive Five-Star Rating, 19 Receive Four-Star Rating

Patient experience and satisfaction concept. Stethoscope and five stars.

Congratulations to hospitals working with the Health Quality Innovation Network (HQIN) that received a five-star or four-star Overall Hospital Quality Star Rating for 2021 from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). The new 2021 methodology ratings are calculated based on hospital performance across five quality categories, including mortality, safety of care, readmission, patient experience, and timely and effective care.

Nationally, the total breakdown of assigned star ratings included:

  • 204 (6.06%) hospitals received a one-star rating
  • 690 (20.57%) hospitals received a two-star rating
  • 1,018 (30.34%) hospitals received a three-star rating
  • 988 (29.45%) hospitals received a four-star rating
  • 455 (13.56%) hospitals received a five-star rating

Hospitals working with HQIN as their Hospital Quality Improvement Contractor (HQIC) that received a five-star rating included:

  • Evangelical Community Hospital (Pennsylvania)
  • St. John’s Health (Wyoming)
  • Wright Memorial Hospital (Missouri)